Research Topics

 

 

In our laboratory, we aim to improve the quality of life by doing research within the ultimate objective of preserving brain health. The brain is an extremely sensitive organ which is crucial for human survival.

 

The research interests of Dre. Girouard are the study of the mechanisms underlying neurovascular coupling and cerebrovascular regulation in health and diseases especialy in the context of vascular dementia.

 

The main objective of her research is to find therapeutical targets to protect the brain in vascular diseases. To reach this objective, she uses various techniques from molecular biology to brain imaging in mice and humans.

Hypertension and the Brain

Hypertension is considered as an accelerator of brain aging and is a leading risk factor for cognitive dysfunctions, dementias and stroke. Ninety percent of the population will develop hypertension in their lifetime and prevalence of hypertension is predicted to substantially increase due to aging and of an increasingly sedentary population. Cognitive dysfunctions and dementia in hypertensive patients have been associated with accelerated brain aging, such as a faster shrinkage of white and grey matter, increased white matter hyperintensities, and impaired cerebrovascular reactivity.

brain_pixabay.png
high blood-pressure_pixabay.jpg

To date, there is no convincing evidence that lowering blood pressure prevents dementia and there are conflicting data as to which antihypertensive drugs should be used for preventing dementia. Hypertension is a multifaceted risk factor with genetic, hormonal, metabolic, inflammatory and biophysical components. A better understanding of the mechanisms underlying accelerated cerebral aging in hypertension will help to develop preventive strategies for dementia and improve quality of life for older adults.

Neurovascular Coupling

Neurovascular coupling is a control mechanism of the brain homeostasis by linking neuronal synaptic activity in blood flow in order to meet the needs for glucose and oxygen for neurons. Although this phenomenon has been investigated for over 100 years, the mechanisms by which an increase in synaptic activity results in vasodilation and dysfunctions remain poorly understood.

image Nasr_Figure1_05_2014.jpg
image Nasr_Figure2_05_2014.jpg

However, the fundamental study of neurovascular coupling is the basis of the principles of modern neuroimaging and understanding them could explain the dichotomies (positive / negative) observed in brain imaging and allow some neuropathological diagnosis. Furthermore, these functions can play a role in certain conditions such as aging, Alzheimer's disease, hypertension, and stroke.

Vascular and Alzheimer's Disease

It is now recognized that most cases of cognitive dysfunction and dementia in the elderly are associated with vascular disorders. However, very few studies have attempted to understand the relationship between vascular risk factors and dementia.

cerveau_vaisseaux pas de fond.png

Using animal models of Alzheimer's disease and vascular dysfunction, we try to understand how these conditions interact to develop a comprehensive approach taking into account the hemodynamic and humoral components as well as those specific to Alzheimer's disease to treat dementias.

IMG_20200226_145335_edited.jpg

The objective is to examine therapeutic approaches acting primarily on vascular risk factors in order to preserve cognitive function.

Techniques

We use a large array of techniques to create a powerful set of tools to explore our questions from the molecule to humans. Our perspective is that in vitro experiments are necessary to isolate parameters and offer a molecular resolution difficult to achieve in vivo. In vivo experiments provide a physiological and integrated perspective where we can take into account all elements of the neurovascular unit and the interactions between different systems within an organism. We also combine transgenic mice and pharmacological approaches to test therapeutic targets and molecular pathways. Finally, our non invasive research in humans offers a translational platform to test our hypothesis provided by fundamental research. In turn, data derived from clinical studies gives insights about experimental models to develop as well as therapeutical targets to study.

Fundamental

Research

Clinical Research

Thèmes de Recherche

 

 

Au sein de notre équipe, nous visons à améliorer notre compréhension de la régulation cérébrovasculaire dans un organisme sain ou pathologique afin d'identifier des cibles thérapeutiques et des stratégies pour protéger le cerveau.

 

Les intérêts de recherche de la Dre. Girouard regroupent l’étude des mécanismes qui sous-tendent le couplage neurovasculaire ainsi que l'étude des mécanismes par lesquelles une dysfonction vasculaire peut affecter la santé cérébrale. Afin d’atteindre ces objectifs, Dre. Girouard propose une multitude de techniques allant de la biologie moléculaire, à l’imagerie cérébrale chez l’homme, en passant par des études physiologiques chez le rongeur.

Hypertension et cerveau

L’hypertension artérielle est considérée comme un accélérateur du vieillissement cérébral et est un facteur de risque considérable pour les dysfonctions cognitives, les les accidents cérébrovasculaires (ACV) et les démences. Les dysfonctions cognitives et les démences chez le patient hypertendu sont associées à une accélération du vieillissement cérébral caractérisée par un rétrécissement plus rapide de la matière blanche et grise, des altération de l'intégrité de la matière blanche ainsi qu’une régulation dysfonctionnelle du débit sanguin cérébral.

high blood-pressure_pixabay.jpg

Jusqu’à maintenant, il n’y a aucune évidence qui démontre que la normalisation de la pression artérielle diminue l’incidence des démences autres que celles associées aux ACV et les données sont contradictoires en ce qui concerne les effets supérieurs d’une drogue antihypertensive comparativement à une autre. Une meilleure compréhension des mécanismes qui sous-tendent le vieillissement cérébral chez le sujet hypertendu aidera à développer des stratégies préventives contre les démences et améliorera la qualité de vie des personnes âgées.

Couplage neurovasculaire

Le couplage neurovasculaire constitue un mécanisme de contrôle de l’homéostasie du cerveau en reliant l’activité synaptique neuronale au débit sanguin afin de satisfaire les besoins en glucose et oxygène des neurones. Bien que ce phénomène ait été l’objet d’investigations depuis plus de 100 ans, les mécanismes par lesquels une augmentation de l’activité synaptique se traduit par une vasodilatation et les dysfonctions qui les affligent demeurent très peu compris.

image Nasr_Figure1_05_2014.jpg
image Nasr_Figure2_05_2014.jpg

Pourtant, l’étude fondamentale du couplage neurovasculaire représente le fondement des principes de la neuroimagerie moderne et sa compréhension pourrait expliquer les dichotomies (résultats positifs/négatifs) observées en imagerie cérébrale et permettre le diagnostic de certaines neuropathologies. En outre, ces fonctions neurovasculaires peuvent péricliter dans certaines conditions telles que le vieillissement, la maladie d’Alzheimer, l’hypertension, et l’accident cérébrovasculaire.

Démences vasculaires et maladie d’Alzheimer

Il est maintenant reconnu que la plupart des cas de dysfonctions cognitives et de démences chez les personnes âgées sont associées à des troubles vasculaires. Cependant, très peu d’études ont tenté de comprendre la relation entre les facteurs de risque vasculaires et les démences.

cerveau_vaisseaux pas de fond.png

En utilisant des modèles animaux de la maladie d’Alzheimer et de dysfonctions vasculaires, nous tentons de comprendre comment ces pathologies interagissent afin de développer une approche globale tenant compte des composantes humorales et hémodynamiques ainsi que celles propres à la maladie d’Alzheimer pour traiter les démences.

IMG_20200226_145335_edited.jpg

L’objectif est de tester des approches thérapeutiques agissant principalement sur les facteurs de risque vasculaires afin de préserver les fonctions cognitives.

Techniques

Nous utilisons un large spectre de techniques afin de créer une combinaison d’approches nous permettant d’explorer nos problématiques de la molécule à l’humain. À notre avis, les expériences in vitro permettent d’isoler certains paramètres et offrent une résolution moléculaire difficilement atteignable in vivo. Les expériences in vivo offrent une perspective physiologique intégrant tous les éléments de l’unité neurovasculaire ainsi que les interactions entre les différents systèmes d’un organisme. Nous combinons aussi les approches pharmacologiques à l’utilisation de souris transgéniques afin de tester des cibles thérapeutiques et des voies moléculaires. Enfin, nos études non invasives chez l’humain forment une plateforme translationnelle pour tester nos hypothèses dérivées de la recherche fondamentale. Les données provenant de la recherche clinique donnent des indications sur les modèles expérimentaux à développer ainsi que sur les cibles thérapeutiques à étudier.

Recherche Fondamentale

Recherche Clinique